Page 1 of 1

Couldn't equip a valid tool

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:57 pm
by azm
hey, for some reason this is the response I get whenever I set my explorer to farm ore and wood on the path and at grindspots. he's a 93, has all crafting proficiency and has equipped the supreme tools of the supreme explorer. I even have it in a quickslot. any idea why my guy's not farming? everything else runs fine. He's killing and gethering well enough.

Re: Couldn't equip a valid tool

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 8:20 am
by jumangi
azm wrote:hey, for some reason this is the response I get whenever I set my explorer to farm ore and wood on the path and at grindspots. he's a 93, has all crafting proficiency and has equipped the supreme tools of the supreme explorer. I even have it in a quickslot. any idea why my guy's not farming? everything else runs fine. He's killing and gethering well enough.
before you start try re equipping the tools or move them off slot(s) 7 and 8 then back again.

Re: Couldn't equip a valid tool

Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:57 pm
by azm
jumangi wrote:
azm wrote:hey, for some reason this is the response I get whenever I set my explorer to farm ore and wood on the path and at grindspots. he's a 93, has all crafting proficiency and has equipped the supreme tools of the supreme explorer. I even have it in a quickslot. any idea why my guy's not farming? everything else runs fine. He's killing and gethering well enough.
before you start try re equipping the tools or move them off slot(s) 7 and 8 then back again.

I tried both. Still doing the same thing :(

Re: Couldn't equip a valid tool

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:27 am
by bob
Try dumping out your skills (debug tab IIRC), and have a look at the resulting file (should turn up in the profile sub dir).

Find the slot with your tools in it, and make sure it can read the name. If it shows up with a guid type string, then it's not reading correctly.

e.g., For the Universal Toolkit, you need to have

Code: Select all

  <item name="(\w+ )?25026072-0da44875" type="woa"/>
in your harvest_tools.xml file, because the name does not read correctly.

I created a simple harvest_tools.xml which covered everything up to the HD release.

Code: Select all

<harvest_tools>
  <item name="(\w+ )?Forester's Axe" type="w"/>
  <item name="(\w+ )?Prospector's Tools" type="o"/>
  <item name="(\w+ )?Scholar's Glass" type="a"/>

   <item name="(\w+ )?Armourer" type="o"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Armsman" type="o"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Explorer" type="wo"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Historian" type="a"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Tinker" type="o"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Woodsman" type="w"/>

   <item name="(\w+ )?Ancient Explorer's Pack" type="wo"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?Universal Toolkit" type="woa"/>
   <item name="(\w+ )?25026072-0da44875" type="woa"/>
   
</harvest_tools>

Yes I do have the Universal Toolkit in there, but this fails to match. I put it in for when it was figured out why it doesn't.